Mission, functions and areas of action

The Ethics Committee for research with medicinal products (CEIm) is an independent body which, in accordance with the corresponding legal provisions, ensures that the rights, safety and wellbeing of clinical trial subjects are protected. The CEIm provides public assurance of that protection by reviewing and approving clinical trial protocols and the methods used to collect and document the informed consent of the subjects and by ensuring the suitability of investigators, facilities and materials.

More specifically, its functions are as follows:

  • To assess the methodological, ethical and legal aspects of:
    • Clinical trials with medicines and medical products
    • Observational studies
    • Pharmacodynamic and pharmacogenetic studies
    • Studies evaluating psychological treatments and surgical procedures.
    • Studies involving invasive procedures and the use of health data (medical records and biological samples).
  • To evaluate amendments and modifications to projects approved by the CEIC.
  • To track and monitor clinical trials with drugs and clinical research with medical products.

CEIm Composition

The composition of the CEIm attached to the HSCSP is as follows:


  • Dr. Antonio López Pousa. Physician. Specialist in Medical Oncology


  • Dr. Gerard Urrútia Cuchí. Physician. Specialist in Epidemiology


  • Dra. Milagros Alonso Martínez. Physician. Specialist in Clinical Pharmacology


  • Sra. Ester Amado Guirado. Farmacèutica d’Atenció Primària.
  • Sra. Ester Bajo Aràmbarri. Diplomada en Infermeria.
  • Dr. Josep Corbella Duch. Doctor en Dret. Comitè d’Ètica Assistencial.
  • Dr. Francesc Jané Carrencà. Metge. Especialista en Farmacologia Clínica.
  • Dr. Xavier León Vintró. Metge. Especialista en Otorrinolaringologia.
  • Dr. Indalecio Morán Chorro. Médico. Especialista en Medicina Intensiva.
  • Sra. Estela Moreno Martínez. Farmacèutica. Especialista en Farmàcia Hospitalària.
  • Dr. Javier Pagonabarraga Mora. Metge. Especialista en Neurologia.
  • Sra. Miguel Àngel Viciana Rodríguez. Asistente social. Unidad de Atención al Usuario.
  • Sra. Dora Mejías García. Persona ajena a les profesiones sanitarias y a la Institución.
  • Sr. Olegario Sotelo Blanco. Persona ajena a les profesiones sanitarias y a la Institución.

This website uses cookies to improve the browsing experience and perform analytical tasks. If you continue browsing, we understand that you agree our cookies policy. More information